“Why Am I at @Starbucks?” #4: Evaluating “Mini Momments”

Mini Moments

Five coupons, each worth $5, each implicitly reinforcing what Starbucks is ultimately selling – small quality moments shared with my loved ones or myself at my local Starbucks store.

I think Starbucks created a really cool gift in its Mini Moments book of gift coupons. At $25, its value is so much more than just a cup of coffee. In fact, it’s not directly about coffee at all. What it is about is gifting someone five unique $5 Starbucks Moments that probably involve coffee.

Here’s an example of how it works. Today I’m at Starbucks to be to myself because I need do some work. Mini Moments has something for me, a $5 “Me Time” coupon ready for me to cash in. This is perfect because I love using Starbucks for such occasions. But this little book doesn’t stop there! If I want to connect with a friend I haven’t chatted with in a while, they have a “Let’s Hang Out Together” coupon I can use to finance just such a get together at a Starbucks most convenient to us both.

There’s really nothing more to “Mini-Moments” than that. But it’s the simplicity that’s so attractive: Five coupons, each worth $5, each implicitly reinforcing what Starbucks is ultimately selling – small quality moments shared with my loved ones or myself at my local Starbucks store.

What’s more, each coupon serves as its own registrable gift card  to a Starbucks Rewards account because why not? Kudos to the Rewards team for coming up with a way to market much more than a gift card, perfect for  buying much more than just my favorite drink.

This entry was posted in Those Who Kick Ass, Why am I at Starbucks?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

